North Carolina State law (G.S. 130A-152) requires documentation of certain immunizations for students attending a North Carolina college or university. Wake Forest University adheres to the State Law, also requiring WFU students to provide documentation of immunizations. Students must submit certification of these immunizations PRIOR TO REGISTRATION. Documentation should be on or attached to the completed 2017-2018 Health Information and Immunization Form provided by the Student Health Service in order to assure correct identification of the student. Acceptable documentation is a statement signed by the appropriate official(s) having custody of the records of immunization, such as a physician, county health department director. The State statute applies to all students except those registered in off campus courses only, attending night or weekend classes, or taking a course load of four (4) credit hours or less.
For information about recommendations concerning immunizations, please see the American College Health Association’s Updated Recommendations for Pre-matriculation Immuniztions.
For detailed information concerning the requirement for Tdap vaccine, please see the CDC’s document Preventing Tetanus, Diphtheria, and Pertussis.
For detailed information about Meningococcal Disease and Meingococcal Vaccine visit this page.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the American College Health Association recommend compliance with the following vaccines standards. North Carolina State Law and Wake Forest University policy require certification in accordance with the following.
1. Tetanus/Diphtheria/Pertussis. Students must document three doses of a combined tetanus diphtheria vaccine (DTaP, Td, or Tdap) of which one must be a Tdap after May 2005.
2. Rubeola (Measles). Students must document two doses of live virus measles vaccine given at least 30 days apart, on or after their first birthday unless (a) they were born prior to January 1, 1957 or (b) they have documentation of a titer indicating they are immune.
3. Rubella (German measles). Students must document that they have had one dose of live virus vaccine on or after their first birthday unless (a) they have documentation of a titer indicating they are immune, or (b) they will be fifty years old before they enroll. History of the disease is not acceptable.
4. Mumps. Students must document two doses of live virus mumps vaccine given at least 30 days apart, on or after their first birthday unless (a) they were born before January 1, 1957 or (b) they have documentation of a titer indicating they are immune. History of the disease is not acceptable.
5. Polio. Students must document that they have had a total of 3 doses of trivalent polio vaccine if they are less than 18 years of age when they enroll. One of these doses must be after the age of 4 years.
6. Hepatitis B. Students are required to document 3 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine if born on or after July 1, 1994. The first and second doses must be at least 28 days apart. The third dose must be at least 56 days (or 8 weeks) after the second dose and at least 16 weeks after the first dose; the third dose cannot be given any earlier than 24 weeks of age. Regardless of age Hepatitis B vaccine is recommended for all students.
7. Tuberculosis test (PPD or TB blood test) is required within 6 months of the University registration date for (a) students who may have been exposed to tuberculosis or has signs or symptoms of active tuberculosis disease or (b) students who have lived more than 30 days in a country other than those designated as low risk for tuberculosis by Centers for Disease Control (CDC). If the student’s tuberculosis test is positive chest x-ray results and record of treatment must be documented.
8. Meningococcal Vaccine. Undergraduate Students must document one dose of quadrivalent meningococcal conjugate vaccine (Menveo or Menactra) after age 16.
1. Varicella – The two-dose series is recommended. Discuss with your health care provider.
2. Meningococcal –CDC recommends routine vaccination with quadrivalent meningococcal conjugate vaccine at age 11 or 12 years, with a booster dose at age 16 years. For adolescents who receive their first dose at age 13-15 years, a one-time booster dose should be administered after age 16 years. Persons who receive their first dose at age 16 years do not need a booster dose.
3. Human Papillomavirus Vaccine (HPV/Gardasil) – A three-dose series.
4. Pneumovax– A vaccine which prevents illness from a strain of bacteria that can cause pneumonia and death. This vaccine is recommended for individuals 19 and older who have asthma or smoke. It is also recommended for those ages 2-64 with any of the following conditions: diabetes, sickle cell disease, lung disease, cochlear implants, CSF leaks, or conditions or medication which lower resistance to infection.
5. Hepatitis A – A two dose series.
Immunizations required under North Carolina law must be documented within thirty days following registration. After that time, students with incomplete documentation of immunizations will not be permitted to attend classes. Please note that some series require several months for completion.
updated March 2017